Roommate

Today, I sent my roommate a message informing them, in the nicest way that I could come up with, that things simply weren’t working and they needed to find a new place to live.  Their response?  It came as something along the lines of “Yeah, you’re right, you don’t want me around”.  We went back and forth a bit with this.  I brought up examples and tried to show her that yes, I did want her around, but she seemed to have no interest in doing anything other than smoking pot and being with her boyfriend.  She brought up that I seemed to not enjoy being around her as much, and didn’t talk to her as much.  … Well, yeah.  Because she didn’t seem to really care about me any longer – she only had room in her life for her boyfriend.

Whatever.  It’s done.  In a month, I’ll be living alone again, and truthfully, I’m really happy for it.  Living alone means that:

  • I won’t come home to a counter and sink full of dirty dishes unless I’m the one who created them
  • I won’t come home to a trash can overflowing with trash because someone’s too lazy to take it out and put in a fresh bag
  • I won’t have ants invading the house IN WINTER because people have left food out in their bedroom
  • Along those lines, I won’t have a refrigerator full of half-eaten meals that are never touched again and left to spoil
  • I won’t have recycling thrown in with the trash because someone’s too lazy to sort it properly
  • I won’t have the ENTIRE HOUSE reeking of weed because my roommate is a pothead who smokes all day
  • I won’t have an electric bill that’s almost double what it typically is because my roommate:
    • a.) Turns the heat in their room up and leaves the window open to vent smoke from smoking weed
    • b.) Leaves TV’s, computers, etc. on all day because they start something, walk away, and never come back
    • c.) Runs the shower for no apparent reason at random times of the day
  • I can do what I want during the days and nights without stressing.  If I want to put together a puzzle, I don’t have to worry that I’m making my roommate think I don’t want to spend time with them (because they apparently do)
  • I don’t have to worry about viruses and worms being downloaded onto my computer because someone wants to pirate software and movies
  • I can wear whatever the hell I want around the house without worrying about being judged or feeling self-conscious
  • I can talk to who I want, invite over who I want, without feeling like I’m imposing (especially my ex, who… well, that’s a whole different thing)

I think this is going to be good.  I’m really excited for it.  I would love to live with someone that I can get along with, that understands and accepts me, but more of all, is a human capable of taking care of themselves.  She isn’t.  What’s more, she forms opinions about things that she has no information on, which… okay, whatever, but then attacking someone on the basis of those opinions?  That’s just dumb.  That’s the biggest reason that I haven’t had contact with someone I care about – and it’s a stupid reason, and I’m already mad at myself for not realizing that reason sooner, but now that reason will be gone.

This was cathartic to write.  All of the anger and frustration and irritation that’s built up over the past few months is much more tolerable now.  I should do this more often.

Leave a Reply

